Chesney Hawkes :: The One and Only

Posted: October 19, 2012 in Songs
Tags:


Chesney Hawkes :: The One And Only
Available on Amazon: MP3 | Album | CD

I think everyone who grew up in my generation has at least heard of, if not adopted this song as their own, at some point in their lives. I remember watching this video whilst waiting in line for a ride at Six Flags. I’d had a massive crush on Chesney at the time, not realizing that two of the guys in my group were crushing on ME (so I was told later).

I can’t wear this uniform without some compromises
Because you’ll find out that we come in different shapes and sizes
No one can be myself like I can, For this job I’m the best man
And while this may be true, you are the one and only you

It was the perfect theme for a teenager (in private school with said uniform, no less) to make a statement, to make a stand. No matter what you try to do to me, how you mold me, or try to influence me, I’m going to be what and who I am.

Too bad I didn’t quite know what that was at the time, and ended up down a rather dark and dreary path. I believed my roadmap was the right one, no one could tell me otherwise. That’s a story for another time.

xx

Originally posted here.

Leave a Reply

