George Harrison :: That’s What It Takes

Posted: November 2, 2012 in Songs
Tags:


George Harrison :: That’s What It Takes
Available on Amazon: MP3 | Album | CD

Here’s something a little lighter since the last few posts have been on the heavy side. I’d love to tell some grandiose story about how this song changed my life but… I was very young when this came out. I think we had just subscribed to BMG Music Club (how many of you remember THAT!?) and this was one of our first cassette- CASSETTE- orders. My dad was a huge fan of the Beatles and was curious to hear what George’s new modern release might sound like. I’m not sure how he eventually felt about it but I latched onto it like a bee to honey.

I was in swimming lessons at the time, my second attempt at learning. The first time I was enrolled in swimming lessons, I caught pneumonia (in the height of summer) and had to stop. I disliked it anyway, ever since I first got water up my nose, and this round wasn’t turning out any better. I had one of those typical cute California teenage guys as a teacher. In retrospect, and if I’d been older, I might have had a crush. But at the time, he became the bane of my existence. Forcing me to kick when I didn’t want to, ignoring me when I cried because I got water in my eyes. I started to despise swimming with a passion, to the point where I wanted to hide under my bed every time my parents would try to take me.

This was the song that got me out the door.

If that’s what it takes, then I’ve got to be strong
Don’t want to be wrong, if that’s what it takes
The closer I get into that open door
I’ve got to be sure, if that’s what it takes

That’s it. Simple as that. If that’s what it took then I had to go. I couldn’t give up. I had to get through the lesson. My “open door” was the last day of class. Even if I learned nothing, I just had to get through it.

The class didn’t really get me anywhere, probably because of my attitude. I ended up teaching myself after we moved into a house with a pool. I’m still not the best swimmer but I can doggie paddle for maybe 30 seconds. No thanks to the cute lifeguard.

xx

Originally posted here.

Leave a Reply

