Military Wives Choir :: Stronger Together

Posted: November 7, 2012 in Songs
Tags: ,


Military Wives Choirs :: Stronger Together
Available on Amazon UK: MP3 | Album | CD

I debated the wisdom of posting something not from America as a message to my fellow Americans on the day after one of our most divisive elections in history… then I thought, screw it. The whole point of my post is to let go of the things that make us different from each other. Regardless of where it’s from, who it’s by, when it was released, how it was made, the message is still the same and just as relevant.

There are times, I need somewhere that I belong
Something that I can call my own
Like I have always known, safe secure and feels like home.

These few lines summarize why I was compelled more than ever to vote this time around. On any other day, it would have been simply an emotional response. Even though I have a place to live, where I am welcome and relatively accepted, I still feel like I’m searching for home. A place to call mine, with people who understand and accept me for who I am. I already have trouble finding that place. Having my basic human rights threatened by the looming election broadened that need. I couldn’t just stand by and watch.

Heard a voice, a whisper that became a shout
I heard them call my name out loud
Following the sound, guiding me leading me higher and higher.

In this at least, I wasn’t alone. There are so many of us who felt the same. Who couldn’t understand why our right to live, to exist, to have the same privileges as those who believed, felt, or even looked different, was up for debate. We already had so little, and had fought for so much. We stood to lose what little ground we had gained.

Can you hear above the noise the voices
Full of life and full of hope

I don’t think it was pure coincidence that I found this song the day before the election. There were so many issues, so many different sides. I was divided. My family and friends were divided. There were no clear choices. Nothing came without a cost. But regardless of who and what won, I knew immediately I wanted to post it as a message of hope, to celebrate or commiserate, and to remind people that we are the strength of this country.

Together we are stronger we can overcome

No matter where you stand, no matter who you voted for, no matter where your loyalties lie, we all have common ground. We all want to succeed and look forward toward a brighter future. We all have people we love and want to protect and cherish.

We can walk this road together we can stand as one

Even if you don’t believe in our leadership, that doesn’t mean you can’t still go out there and make a difference. This country is made up of individuals, with different talents, from different backgrounds, with different voices. That is what makes us strong. No matter who’s calling the shots, it is the people who will make this country not only thrive but succeed.

And now nothing can divide us we are stronger together

Nothing will change overnight. I don’t expect miracles. But the base from which we all can move on has been solidified. And if we concentrate on our similarities, if we can continue to break down the barriers between each other and work together, I believe everything else can follow.

Together we belong, together we are strong.

—–

Incidentally, I’d been a fan of Gareth Malone since I saw him on The Choir: Military Wives. What he’d done- to give these women and partners a voice- was nothing short of astounding. I highly recommend the series, and its other incarnations. He has inspired and united so many people through music even they probably thought they could never understand. As a former choir member back in high school (not through one of his), when it wasn’t exactly accepted as the “cool” thing, seeing him making such a difference means so much. Thank you, Gareth.

xx

Originally posted here.

Leave a Reply

