The So Manys :: Missing Pieces

Posted: November 8, 2012 in Songs
Tags:


The So Manys :: Missing Pieces
Available on Amazon: MP3 | Album

This song was the unfortunate soundtrack when I received an email from a family member earlier today. Forwarded from the head of her religious group, the message spouted invective about our president and pretty much everyone who voted for him. While I’d hoped to do a more upbeat post as this song rightfully deserves, it’s the only thing that’s getting me through this email right now and I cannot stay silent about it.

I’m not sure if this particular family member knows my stance. Either way, it’s heartbreaking to see someone who I very much love and care about promoting this kind of animosity. Even if it’s not personally directed, it still feels like an attack. Being a perpetual optimist, I want to believe this message is, at its core, based on love. That it only sounds the way it does out of fear- of harm coming to loved ones and uncertainty about the future. But that doesn’t change the tone, the words.

We’ve all had our hearts torn in two
A fight that leaves you black and blue
We’re all, we’re all missing pieces

It’s attitudes like these that have made me hesitate to go to church in recent months. I was raised Catholic, and though I’ve had issues with the faith in the past, my relationship with God is not something I’ve ever questioned. When Obama eventually won the majority of the Catholic vote, I was surprised but pleased. Everywhere around me, it seemed like that wouldn’t be the case. Even now, I can’t help thinking that there are people in whatever parish I end up in, who not only disagree, but who think that this majority of Catholics are delusional. It’s made me reconsider a lot of things. It made me feel like my personal faith is something very few people, if anyone would understand.

We’ve all got some fears that we hide
We hope nobody else will ever find
We’re all, we’re all missing pieces

I know there are other issues at stake. I can’t even go into them or we’d be here all day. But this email wasn’t about economics or politics or even human rights. It’s about instilling fear and hate. It’s about putting labels on people, most of which are not even based on fact. There is no middle ground. There is absolutely nothing I can even come close to agreeing with in this message. I can’t even put into words how much it scares me that someone this close to me may think the exact same thing about me after reading this. That we are so far apart in belief that we can’t even see each other’s sides.

We all are up and down, we all are lost and found
We’re all in need something to believe in
So much that life can give, there’s so much life to live
There’s only one thing that can fill the need

I have to believe that somewhere, deep inside both of us, there is still some measure of common ground. Based on respect, not disdain. Acceptance, not intolerance. Love, not hate. At the core of us all, I have to believe that. Otherwise, what are we all doing?

But I say love, love will fill us
Love, love can heal us

The title of the song fits as well. The loss of the peace I felt at church, the potential loss of this person as a confidante, I feel like I’m losing pieces of myself. And all I want to do is figure out how to put them back together again.

xx

Originally posted here.

Leave a Reply

