Chad and Jeremy :: A Summer Song

Posted: November 16, 2012 in Songs
Tags:


Chad and Jeremy :: A Summer Song
Available on Amazon: MP3 | Album | CD

Ahh, sweet summer days. This takes me back to childhood picnics- fussing to get this cassette into the boombox while mom marinated steaks and dad tried to coax a flame out of our little hibachi grill. Those were days when my worst worry was what my horrible swim teacher was going to make me do the next day.

Trees, swaying in the summer breeze,
Showing off their silver leaves
As we walk by.

I can still see the leaves, swaying above from where I was lying on a blanket on the grass. Streams of sunlight playing chase through the branches. I was warm, carefree, nose filling with the promise of a juicy barbecue lunch.

They say that all good things must end some day;
Autumn leaves must fall.

Listening to the live version, I’m glad that its a little imperfect. It makes me remember, but reminds me to stay grounded. Everything is different now. So much has changed in those days.

But don’t you know that it hurts me so
To say goodbye to you?
Wish you didn’t have to go,
No, no, no, no.

Sometimes I do wish for those days again. To be my younger, happier self. But that would mean not having the (relative) wisdom I have now. So maybe it’s better this way. To have lived and learned, yet still able to be taken back to those times by the same song.

And when the rain beats against my window pane,
I’ll think of summer days again,
And dream of you.

Now, I just need to figure out where to find watermelon in winter.

xx

Originally posted here.

Leave a Reply

