Rascal Flatts :: Bless the Broken Road

Posted: November 21, 2012 in Songs
Tags:

Rascal Flatts :: Bless the Broken Road
Available on Amazon: MP3 | Album | CD

On Thanksgiving eve, I’d like to celebrate the people who have been in my life- past, present, even future. Even though this is technically a love song for one, I’d like to expand the meaning to include all those who have taken my hand, who’ve stood by me and dusted me off when I’ve fallen.

I set out on a narrow way many years ago
Hoping I would find true love along the broken road

I’m not sure I believe in the concept of true love. The last time I tried to make it work, it almost ruined me. It was selfish in many ways. I ended up pushing away and even hurting those who tried to help. For this concept of “love,” I lost people, I lost myself. By the time I realized it, it was almost too late.

But I got lost a time or two, wiped my brow and kept pushing through
I couldn’t see how every sign pointed straight to you

I was just figuring out who I was when I got married. We fought over what I thought I was and where he thought I should go. As time went on, it became easier to let him dictate and spare myself the debate. But living up to his expectations was hell. It took a long time before I decided I couldn’t do it. Not because I was incapable, but because it wasn’t me. That realization nearly killed me. I’d given up everything for a lie. I was scared that even if I got out, I’d be alone. That no one would be there because I’d kept them out.

But you just smile and take my hand, you’ve been there you understand
It’s all part of a grander plan that is coming true

I was wrong. Even after all I’d put them through, my family and a few friends were there when I finally broke away. They caught me, kept me safe until I could breathe again. As I began to heal, more people started coming out of the woodwork, people I hadn’t spoken to in years. They welcomed me, supported me, gradually allowed me back into their lives. I couldn’t believe it. I thought they’d all given up and written me off. But no. They were just waiting for me to get my head back on straight and seek them out.

Every long lost dream, led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart, they were like northern stars
Guiding me on my way, into your loving arms

I do believe that people enter in your life for a reason. Whether they guide you or cause you to make mistakes, you learn from every relationship. You take away something from every person you meet. At any given moment, whether you want to admit it or not, there are people who care about you. Sometimes you just need a little push to see them. There are also those ready to hurt or damage you in some way. You have to learn to recognize them. Even if you end up falling on your face, learn from your mistakes and seek help when you need.

Now I’m just rolling home, into my lover’s arms
This much I know is true,
That God blessed the broken road that led me straight to you

So much has changed in the last two years. Some bad, most good. But I wouldn’t be anywhere without the people who have stayed with me along this journey. This is a love song to all of you. Thank you.

xx

Originally posted here.

Leave a Reply

