Band Aid :: Do They Know It’s Christmas

Posted: November 26, 2012 in Songs
Tags: ,

Band-Aid :: Do They Know It’s Christmas?
Compilation Album: Now That’s What I Call Christmas
– Available on Amazon: MP3 | CD

It’s that time of year again. Here’s a holiday blast from the past. This is my favorite time of year and of course, I have a corresponding soundtrack to share.

“Do They Know It’s Christmas?” was my #1 Christmas song growing up. I was very much into Culture Club and Duran Duran. Watching Boy George and John Taylor sing in the same video was one of the highlights of my musical childhood. I wasn’t much into Simon. Apparently, I was already into bassists. Back in grade school, I found a used vinyl at a school fair once and hugged it all the way home.

It’s still as moving as when I first heard it. Maybe even more so now with the nostalgia factor. It’s a song that makes you think, makes you remember. People are still starving. There will always be others worse off. It’s a reminder that applies any day of the year but takes advantage of the generosity encouraged during the holidays. I sometimes need that reminder. I get caught up in the pleasure of buying, and yes, receiving gifts, sometimes from those I would have never expected. I love being responsible for bringing a bit of joy to someone’s life. But then songs like this come out and I want to be doing more.

It’s Christmas time, there’s no need to be afraid
At Christmas time, we let in light and we banish shade
And in our world of plenty we can spread a smile of joy
Throw your arms around the world at Christmas time

When I was able, I used to donate money to at least one charity during the holidays. I started getting animal adoptions as presents for my animal-loving family and friends. But funds have gotten tighter over the last few years. So I started buying bulk holiday cards and writing short notes to deployed or wounded military who may or may not have family to keep their spirits up over the holidays.

Different programs have popped up over the years but the American Red Cross: Holiday Mail For Heroes is always a good bet. This year’s deadline is December 5. For less than $10 (5 boxes of random cards from a dollar store + bulk USPS mail postage), I can reach as many as 50 soldiers. If I can bring even a little bit of light to even one person serving my country, I say that’s more than worth it.

Feed the world
Let them know it’s Christmas time
Feed the world
Let them know it’s Christmas time

For me, it’s not just about feeding the world, it’s looking outside yourself, outside your comfort zone, outside your immediate environment, to make the world a better place. And of course, taking care of those you love.

Happy Holidays.

xx

Originally posted here.

Leave a Reply

