[ Musings ] Tales from the recliner

Posted: April 11, 2016 in Blog, Health
Tags: , , , ,

Recovery is a bitch.

Even more so when you’re recovering from one surgery, just to go into another.

It doesn’t seem worth it somehow, to eat right, exercise, to build up strength and endurance just to know you’ll lose all of it and be back to square one within a few weeks.

It’s frustrating to be in that kind of limbo.

As far as the hemangiopericytoma, I’ve bought myself a few more years with this last surgery. They got it all, and shaved off part of my diaphragm in the process. It’s mildly disconcerting to think of how many bits and pieces of me are scattered in labs somewhere.

In the days that followed, they discovered a new cancer. Thyroid this time. This time, it’s “malignant.” They have to take all of it out. I’ll have to take Synthroid or some other hormone replacement for the rest of my life.

Frightening thought. Especially when they’re going to be so close to my voicebox.

But worse is the idea of not having the surgery. I think. It’s hard to know, to be sure. Nothing’s sure.

So here we go again. Round 2. Pre-op this week.


xx

Leave a Reply

